Best Jukebox in the World

So, what would be on the Best Jukebox in the World?  What are your favourite tunes of all time?  I’d have to have:

U2: Where The Streets Have No Name

Deacon Blue: Loaded

The Stone Roses: I Am The Resurrection

Bruce Springsteen: Secret Garden

What would you add?

14 Responses to Best Jukebox in the World

  1. pmk1977 says:

    YMCA?
    I Will Survive?
    Is this the way to Amarillo?

  2. swryv says:

    No this isn’t the YMCA, who knows if you will survive and I have no idea where Amarillo is!!!

  3. pmk1977 says:

    Well, it should be, depends if I behave myself and I believe Amarillo is somewhere in Texas!

  4. hospital corners says:

    Sting : Roxanne (acoustic version is AMAZING!)
    U2 : City of Blinding Lights
    Muse : Supermassive Black Hole
    T-Rex : Get it On

    need to and have a think …

  5. swryv says:

    The Cult: She Sells Sanctuary
    Depeche Mode: Personal Jesus
    New Order: True Faith

  6. swryv says:

    martha and the muffins: echo beach!!!
    the cure: boys don’t cry
    joy division: love will tear us apart

  7. Rose says:

    Oh My Goodness, how much time do you have?
    And how badly does this date me? Here goes, just an abreviated list to be sure:
    Thin Lizzy “The Boys are Back in Town”
    Willie Nelson “Red Headed Stranger Medley”, “Whiskey River”, “If you’ve got the Money….”
    Shawn Colvin “Shotgun down the Avalanche”
    Little Feat “Hate to Lose Your Lovin’ ”
    Rod Stewart “Hot Legs”
    Queen “We Will Rock You” and “Killer Queen”
    Crash Test Dummies “God Shuffled his Feet”
    Dire Straits “Why Worry”, “The Man’s too Strong” (love the guitar solo) Pretty much anything performed by Mark Knopfler.
    And Yes, Amarillo is in Texas, about 5 hours east of me, but not a place I can recommend, unless you like flat!

  8. Stewart says:

    Willie Nelson!!! Oh dear! The rest are good choices! It seems that you are a bit of a rock chick! I share your liking of all things Dire Straits / Mark Knopfler.

  9. Rose says:

    Hey, don’t knock Willie! The man is in his 70’s and still turning out hit music. He is also an avid conservationist who insists on traveling the country in a vegetable oil powered coach, and a philanthropist who regularly organizes benefits for those less fortunate. -Talk about living an Old Man’s Dream- However, looking over my list I noted that I picked tunes more as a representation of what was going on in my life at the time, sort of my own personal life soundtrack. Willie came from my early youth growing up on farms and ranches around the southwest. “We will rock you” was my high school fight song. The rest of my picks seem to come from my college years and early 20’s. Interesting (to me!) that I haven’t picked anything contemporary! And yes, somewhat of a rock chick, but love, absolutely love all types of music. Music and dancing are a huge part of my daily life.

  10. Stewart says:

    I’m not knocking the man… I’m just not a big fan of his music.

    Anyway, most of my choices are from the past too. I wonder if that’s because we do tend to pick songs that make up our ‘soudtrack’?

    I’d add ‘Bad’ by U2 and ‘Scottish Rain’ by The Silencers’. Oh and ‘Heroes’ by David Bowie!!!!

    I’m loving the Muse song ‘Starlight’ and Razorlight’s ‘America’ just now.

  11. Rose says:

    Fair enough.

    I love “Scottish Rain” and also pretty much anything by Bowie, even from his “Spiders from Mars” days. For years he was on the top of my “who would you want to sit next to on an international flight” list. So, who would you most want to sit next to and talk with on a flight across the ocean?

  12. Stewart says:

    Bono or Mandela…

  13. Rose says:

    I would have been surprised if Bono hadn’t been on your list. Mine too, probably, but I would likely just spend the whole trip drooling and giggling, and not be able to carry on a conversation!

  14. Stewart says:

    He seems like such an interesting man. Very worldly and spiritual at the same time. I like that. I think if I did meet him I’d be dumbstruck!

    I’d also like to meet Desmond Tutu. He’s an amazing man. The work he did with the ‘Truth and Reconciliation’ hearings in South Africa at the ending of Apartheid was inspirational. I watched a programme a while back where he brought terrorists and victims together in Northern Ireland. He dealt with them with such grace and humility that some healing could take place.

